#Poetry: The Real You #MPBooks

A darker poem for National Poetry Month

My Peacock Books Poetry Banner

A quick word of warning for all who are new to following me.  Although I do have a happy demeanor, I also write a lot of darker poetry.  It’s a good outlet for my mind and thoughts as I’ve suffered through some tough times.  This is one of those darker poems.

Damaged mannequin
Image from Pixabay.com

The Real You

The truth of your heart was plain to see,
To all outside but never to me.
I was blinded by your words, your trust,
Never believing they’d turn to rust.
I consumed the lies every time you said,
Things would change, stop the dread.
My head would scream, my heart deny,
Believe the secret, tears I’d cry.
Let myself ignore what’s true,
The love I wished came not from you.
Deaf to all who tried to show,
What truth was real, what I should know.
Now too late no time to mend,
But got their wish, for this to end.
Only regret I have in my soul,
You ended it, my life you stole.


Any thoughts please do comment 🙂

Here’s where you can also find me:

Facebook  Twitter  Google+ Instagram  Pinterest  Goodreads  Bloglovin’  StumbleUpon

Author: mypeacockbooks

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks! I'm a girl who enjoys blogging, reading, being arty and showing off 'Phoenix' the Peacock to everyone I meet!

2 thoughts on “#Poetry: The Real You #MPBooks”

Phoenix the Peacock's waiting to hear what you think!

