#BookReview: Triangle by Mac Barnett & Jon Klassen #MPBooks

A review of the fun picture book by the popular duo Barnett and Klassen

Book Review Logo
Book cover of Tringle
‘Triangle’ book cover

Title: Triangle

Author: Mac Barnett

Illustrator: Jon Klassen

Publisher: Walker Books

Genre: Children’s Picture Book

Feathers: One My Peacock Books featherOne My Peacock Books featherOne My Peacock Books featherOne My Peacock Books feather

 

Description: This book is about Triangle.  One day Triangle leaves his house to play a sneaky trick on his friend.  Or at least that is Triangle’s plan.

My Review: I do like this book.  The cover is especially intriguing featuring nothing more than a picture of Triangle.  Like the name suggests this book follows Triangle as he plans to play a trick on his friend Square.  The story is a fun one with Triangle playing his trick, but it backfires a little and ends with a funny, if slightly odd, twist.  The twist at the end of the book is unexpected and the last page leaves you with a question rather than just ending which is good fun in getting kids more involved even after the story has been read.

The first pages of ‘Triangle’

I love the illustrations in this book.  I was first introduced to Jon Klassen’s style with the book ‘We Found A Hat’, also by Walker Books, and this book follows in that amazing visual humour.  Most of the images look like printed shapes rather than being drawn freehand, and the expressions of character’s faces is somehow very funny in a way I think adults will love.

Another page of ‘Triangle’. Here you can see the curved edges of the book

This book is a hard back but not at all glossy.  Although the picture doesn’t show it, the books right-hand edges are rounded with no sharp points making this book easier for smaller hands to hold, however the pages inside are very papery rather than glossy so it depends on the child as to whether you’d want them handling the book.

More pages from ‘Triangle’ 🙂

The story is fun and I love the twist but I didn’t enjoy this as much as ‘We Found A Hat’.  The ending was a bit odd to me and although I love the illustrations I was expecting a little more.  However it’s a great book for kids and one which many adults might enjoy.
-Thanks to Walker Books for providing a free copy.


Any thoughts?  I’m also available in theses places:

Facebook  Twitter  Google+ Instagram  Pinterest  Goodreads  Bloglovin’  StumbleUpon

Author: mypeacockbooks

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks! I'm a girl who enjoys blogging, reading, being arty and showing off 'Phoenix' the Peacock to everyone I meet!

Phoenix the Peacock's waiting to hear what you think!

