April 2017 Round-Up ~MPBooks

My Peacock Books Website Banner
What I’ve been doing: Reading in (or on) bed – Image from Pexels.com

Hello everyone!  How has your week been?  Mine’s been pretty uneventful.  I’m not sure if anyone noticed my complete absence this last week, maybe nobody has as this blog’s still pretty new, but if you guys have well I’ve been a little under the weather…Well a LOT under the weather.  I’m not sure what happened but I was so ill I was stuck in bed and couldn’t even stare at a computer screen as it just hurt my eyes from the intense and horrible headaches and the ‘highlight’ of my week was almost vomiting into my dinner…Ok sorry for the gross image but that did happen…almost.  Anyway I’m better now (…I hope) and thank goodness, and I’m ready to start blogging again.

I thought I’d do a little celebration round up seeing as it’s the last day of the month 🙂  April’s been a great month for me and this blog, despite the week off ill.  On 8th My Peacock Books was officially launched and since then I’ve read a handful of great books and had some amazing people like, comment and follow this blog.  I’ve also attempted to write more poetry given the fact it was National Poetry Month and of course it was Easter too which is just fun all by itself 🙂

So what’s in store for next month?  More of the same of course, although I hope to not be sick during any of it.  I still have a bit of a mammoth book pile to get through, with a lot of books from Walker Books thanks to the super book haul I got a few weeks ago: check it out!  I’ve also got a few NetGalley books to review which aren’t quite out yet, but I’ll let you know about them when I’m closer to reviewing them 😀

Of course my blog’s not all kids and YA though, and although I love them, I was pining to read some fantasy books and I went to my local library and checked these out:

Strange the Dreamer book cover
Strange the Dreamer
Caraval book cover
Caraval UK book cover

I’m so excited I’ve started reading Strange the Dreamer already and I’m just loving it!  It’s got blue sprayed pages and it’s just soo engrossing, I’ll probably spend the next day or two just reading it and doing nothing else 🙂  I’m easing my self into next week, so I’m not 100% sure if I’ll have a post up for Monday Motivation this week but I hope to visit some blogs and I hope you’ll want to stick around and read anything I do post up ❤

So how has your week been?  What are you going to be reading?  Have you read Strange the Dreamer or Caraval yet?  Do you want to?  Let me know in the comments below, I’d love to have a conversation with you 🙂


Any thoughts?  Want to follow me elsewhere?  Please do! 🙂

Facebook  Twitter  Google+ Instagram  Pinterest  Goodreads  Bloglovin’  StumbleUpon

Author: mypeacockbooks

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks! I'm a girl who enjoys blogging, reading, being arty and showing off 'Phoenix' the Peacock to everyone I meet!

19 thoughts on “April 2017 Round-Up ~MPBooks”

  1. Welcome back! Glad you’re feeling better! I’ve haven’t read either of the books you mentioned here but I have seen a lot of people interested in Caraval! I’m currently reading the finale of a series that just got released that I’ve been waiting for for at least a year and a half!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🙂 And thank you for commenting, not many people do so I appreciate it ❤ Wow, that's a long time to wait, I hope the book is worth it. What series is it you've been reading and would you recommend it? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 1000% I would recommend it! I’m having a real hard time putting this final installment down. It’s called The Fifth Essence by Becca Andre and it’s the 5th and final book of The Final Formula series. If you like alchemy, elements and travelling between the living and dead planed type of stories, you’ll devour this series!

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Glad you’re feeling better, I’d hate to be stuck without being able to use screens for even a few hours.
    Caraval is on my tbr list, I hope I get a chance to read it soon. I’ll look forward to your review.
    My big news of the week is I’ve just revealed my new book cover and hope to set up the preorder in the next few days. And book fairies will be leaving 20 copies of Visions of Zarua for people to find on Tuesday. Exciting stuff!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so glad you are feeling better 🙂 Things are beginning to find some level of normalcy again. Mom was in the hospital for a week so I have been running non-stop. Now I have to do the whole catch up thing. It’s alright though, Mom is doing a bit better and that is the important thing. The book series Nel mentioned souds interesting, I will have to check it out! Have a great week.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you, Mom is getting back to some level of normalcy. She needs to take better care of herself but I’m working on that. It will be a great year. The nine energy is gone and we are in a year long new beginning!

        Like

  4. I’m glad you’re feeling better. I haven’t been online much this last week myself so I’m afraid I didn’t notice you weren’t around. 😦 I don’t know either of the books you’ve got from the library and will be interested to hear what you think of them. I have hardly read anything so far this year unfortunately, not having had much time. The most recent book I finished is called ‘Treasured Island’ by Frank Barrett in which he recounts the few months he became a literary tourist travelling round England, Wales and Scotland visiting places associated with authors and their books. It was a light read but very interesting and quite funny in places.
    https://www.waterstones.com/book/treasured-island/frank-barrett/9780749578138

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That book sounds interesting, thank you for the link I’ll take a look :). Don’t worry about not noticing, I’m afraid I know all too well about having little time online, only just got back online today, so not at all a problem 🙂 I’m still reading through Strange the Dreamer, I would have already finished but had a lot of other stuff to do too, but it’s a great fantasy book so far – if a little heavy, it’s a hardback with well over 500 pages! lol

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Do hope you are getting better. Rest and light meals is the best. Body getting sick is an indication that you need re-balancing you life ~ “Mind and Body” so do not over do it. Taking enough rest and re-energising pays of in the long run as you end up fully energised and to be of good health in the long run. Take it easy and sending Many Blessings for Good Health and Healing energies your way 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Phoenix the Peacock's waiting to hear what you think!

