#BookReview: Alphonse, That Is Not OK To Do! by Daisy Hirst #MPBooks

A review of this funny picture book about siblings

Book Review Logo
Alphonse That Is Not OK To Do! book cover
Walker Books UK book cover

Title: Alphonse, That Is Not OK To Do!

Author: Daisy Hirst

Publisher: Walker Books

Genre: Children’s Picture Book

Feathers: One My Peacock Books featherOne My Peacock Books featherOne My Peacock Books featherOne My Peacock Books featherOne My Peacock Books feather

 

Description: Natalie mostly likes having Alphonse around, but when she catches him eating her favourite book, well…That is Not OK!

My Review: I love this funny book about sibling problems. The story is about Natalie and her younger brother Alphonse. Just like so many typical sibling problems, Natalie, being older, likes her brother but sometimes he does things that make her not like him. The story starts off by showing us how much the two of them enjoy spending time together, naming pigeons, storytime, etc. but then we see why Alphonse sometimes upsets Natalie by eating her favourite book! I don’t want to spoil the story, but it’s very funny and has a happy ending.

Simple and fun pictures inside this book

The pictures in this book really made me smile. Natalie and Alphonse are such simply drawn creatures but the book can really show their emotions well. The story also had me laughing, with both the pictures and the way some of the story was worded, especially about the ‘lunch was peas’ part which had me laughing for some silly reason. The book a paperback and around A4ish in size although square in shape. There are nice thick pages which aren’t glossy but show colours really well.

The text font is fun to read too.

I think kids, and especially those with siblings will relate to and enjoy this book. The ending is funny and sweet but also gets across a great message of getting along with your siblings. Apart from that adults might enjoy this too. I’m not a child myself but I found the whole book’s story and pictures really funny and engaging. I’d definitely recommend this book.

The whole book has a fun look to it 🙂

-Thanks to Walker Books for providing a free copy


Do you like the look of this book?  Is it something you’d enjoy or are you thinking of buying?  Please do comment 🙂  You can also find me here: 

Facebook  Twitter  Google+ Instagram  Pinterest  Goodreads  Bloglovin’  StumbleUpon

 

Author: mypeacockbooks

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks! I'm a girl who enjoys blogging, reading, being arty and showing off 'Phoenix' the Peacock to everyone I meet!

5 thoughts on “#BookReview: Alphonse, That Is Not OK To Do! by Daisy Hirst #MPBooks”

Phoenix the Peacock's waiting to hear what you think!

