#BookReview: Mrs Mole, I’m Home! by Jarvis #MPBooks

A hilarious kids picture book with little mini jokes adults will love!

Book Review Logo
Mrs Mole, I'm Home! book cover
Mrs Mole, I’m Home!

Title: Mrs Mole, I’m Home!

Author, Illustrator: Jarvis

Publisher: Walker Books

Genre: Children’s Picture Book

Feathers: One My Peacock Books featherOne My Peacock Books featherOne My Peacock Books featherOne My Peacock Books featherOne My Peacock Books feather

Description: Morris can’t find his glasses…anywhere.  And now he can’t see…anything.  Not to worry.  Morris is positive that his instincts will lead him home!
But just how good are Morris’s instincts?

My Review: This is such a funny book! Morris Mole works at a restaurant but when it’s time to go home he misplaces his glasses and decides it’s not that difficult to burrow his way home without them. As the front cover and the title show, Morris pops up assuming he’s home only to have burrowed into another creatures home. The rest of the book follows a predictable path of Morris repeatedly popping up in various different places thinking each time he’s home when he’s not.

The first pages of the book

This is a brilliant picture book and definitely has appeal to both kids and adults. The repetitive nature of the story will appeal to kids, it usually does, and the fun illustrations add a lot of humour to the already funny story. The copy of the book I have is an A4ish sized paperback with thick, colourful pages inside but papery rather than glossy. The pictures are quite simple and yet detailed in a way that there are little things to spot within the image that you might miss at first glance. The illustrations also feature funny things that only adults will really ‘get’ such as the name of the restaurant where Morris works or the titles of some books.

A closer look at another page of the book

The story is funny right to the end and although has a happy and predictable ending, there’s a twist on the last page which make me smile. I really like picture books like this and I would certainly recommend it to others but I do have a personal issue and that is the red colour used on both the front page and the first couple of pages inside the book. The colour is lovely but when I view the book in low light, that particular shade contrasts with the blue next to it in such a way that I squint every time I look at it, especially the book cover as the red feels like it’s almost ‘dancing’ It’s not a big issue but something to be aware of if you have sensitive eyes like me and plan to view this book in a low light atmosphere. Overall though a great and very funny picture book worth reading!

And this is where the real funny starts in this book! 😀

-Thanks to Walker Books for providing a free copy.


Do you like the look of this book?  Is it something you’d enjoy or are you thinking of buying?  Please do comment 🙂  You can also find me here, but apologies for not recently visiting some of them – will do so soon ❤ : 

Facebook  Twitter  Google+ Instagram  Pinterest  Goodreads  Bloglovin’  StumbleUpon

Author: mypeacockbooks

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks! I'm a girl who enjoys blogging, reading, being arty and showing off 'Phoenix' the Peacock to everyone I meet!

Phoenix the Peacock's waiting to hear what you think!

