June 2017 Round-up (Sorry I’ve been away!) #MPBooks

A sum up of June and what to look forward to in July.

My Peacock Books Website Banner
Reading in bed
Image from Pexels.com

Hi everyone!  Sorry for being away for this past week.  I’ve been busy, busy sorting out a few things and ran out of posts to schedule on this blog.  I’ve been posting daily at 9am on here but if I run out of content then it just stops so I might have to rethink when I post so there’s always something coming soon for you to read.

Apart from a hectic few days I’ve been dealing with a bit of a copyright issue.  Some of you on social media might have seen me ranting on about this but for those that don’t know, my previous blog is still up online (containing all sorts of book reviews and other things) and a review from there was used by a publisher for promotion.  Long story short – they credited some other site instead of mine which left me both a bit upset and frustrated with how long it’s taking to sort it out.  I’m still talking it out with them and hopefully the trouble will be resolved soon but I’ll let you know what happens.

So this month was a great month for this blog!  I’ve written some articles/discussion posts as well as read some great books and of course some poetry.

This month’s highlights…

Books in bed
Click on the picture to read this post!

I love the fact that my May article What Makes a Young Adult book Versus Just Adult? is my most popular to date!  It’s the most popular post of June and I hope you all enjoyed reading it.  I’m thinking of follow up posts at the moment to go into more detail about YA books and others!

In June I wrote two articles one focussing on books Paper or Digital? I gave my personal experience of the two and which one I ultimately prefer.  Please read it if you haven’t already and let me know which you prefer 🙂   I’ve also got a special thank you for that post as it’s had the most shares to date from Twitter, Facebook and even LinkedIn!  So thank you to everyone who shared it ❤ 🙂

Grenfell Tower Wide imageThe other article I wrote focused on the terrible fire in a tower block which left many people dead and the survivors without homes.  There was controversy surrounding the fire and I wrote my own opinion and feelings about this in Was Grenfell Tower a Disaster Waiting to Happen?

June book highlights…

Apart from articles I wrote some more poetry, both happy and sad and lots more book reviews although I admit most of my ‘June book hauls’ haven’t yet been reviewed in June 😮  Sorry, I’ve been behind this month but hopefully will catch up now in July.  So which books were my favourites of June?  These 😀  :

A Singular Baptism book cover

A Singular Baptism A hilarious comedy of errors.  This book is pure farce and perfect for those who want to enjoy a good laugh at some silly over the top situations.  It has a great ending that’s just a little bit heart-warming too 🙂

 

The Lost Sentinel book coverThe Lost Sentinel The first in the ‘Silent Sea Chronicles’ this book is perfect for dark fantasy lovers.  It’s so engrossing and so dark that you just can’t predict what will happen, including some very unexpected deaths! 😮

 

Julius Zebra Bundle with the Britons book coverJulius Zebra: Bundle with the Britons Although aimed at a middle grade/older children audience, this was just so silly that I loved it!  It’s a silly story based in Roman Times but it’s not at all serious and has some great and funny illustrations.

 

Kancil The Mouse Deer book coverKancil The Mouse Deer This children’s picture book is short but a little like ‘The Gruffalo’ and I think I just fell in love with the illustrations even more than the story, though that is cute and fun too.

 

And June’s favourite poem…

Bouquet on floor

This month’s favourite poem Life With You is the first I’ve written on this blog that’s with a twist!  It’s had quite a few views and amazingly shares on wordpress as well as other places.  It’s also the first poem I’ve written that hasn’t completely followed my usual 1,2,3,2 or 1,2,1,2 rhyming style so I’d love to know what you think of it if you haven’t already read it.  Be warned it’s emotional though!

Plan for next month

Those of you who are observant might have seen that I haven’t kept up the #MondayMotivation posts every week.  I’ll admit it’s been hard for me to keep these up.  I guess I’m just not that motivated lol! :p  I think motivation posts are things that I can write but just not once a week.  there are other bloggers far better at these sorts of posts than I am.  I’m still going to keep up with some #MondayMotivation posts but maybe limiting it to one or two a month.  I’m still thinking about the details 🙂

As for reading, I’ve got a ton of that to do!  Lots of books already to read including some big releases coming up like ‘The Upstairs Room’ and ‘Nemesis’ in paperback which I am reading soon as well as all those books I still have from June’s book haul.

As well as all that I’m still going to bring you some poetry and colouring and anything else that I feel like writing.  I’ve got lots of articles/discussion posts planned in my head, some for readers, some for writers and some purely random things so hopefully I’ll get those written and out this month.  I’ll also send news of what’s happened to that previous wrongfully credited review…Copyright issues and stuff going on there – no fun :/  I might even go into more detail about my old blog and reasons for starting over.

I hope you all have a great July and that your June was a great one!

Let me know what your highlights of June have been and what you’re planning for July.  I’d love to hear from you!


Check me out in other places around the web! 🙂

Facebook  Twitter  Google+ Instagram  Pinterest  Goodreads  Bloglovin’  StumbleUpon

 

Author: mypeacockbooks

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks! I'm a girl who enjoys blogging, reading, being arty and showing off 'Phoenix' the Peacock to everyone I meet!

6 thoughts on “June 2017 Round-up (Sorry I’ve been away!) #MPBooks”

  1. Cat, This is such a great UPBEAT post, and I love what you have written and your plans for July and the future. Like I have said before I am not much of fiction reader, therefore I tend to enjoy when you do your poetry or post like this. I really loved this summary of your.

    I haven’t even thought of June and whats great. I seem to have gained more work that was not planned to do with my voluntary activities. I have been in blogging dip since March, but I think I can see the light at the end of the tunnel. I have done a good few up beat post and I am proud of my Meditation Tuesday post, as it helps me find out meditations for my own personal growth.

    I think it is hard to post daily albeit randomly. I am already struggling with my blogging schedule- but I think me an my blogging schedule is going to be an ongoing fight. As for motivation monday – do you want to some sort of collaboration or something at some future point with me – email me and we can discusss.

    Enjoy your weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, I know not everybody is into the book reviews so it’s good to know my other posts are welcome too :). A collaboration sounds good, I never thought of it before. I’ll email you later today or tomorrow as I’ve only just got back and it’s getting late already.
      Don’t worry about the blogging schedule, I think we all have to work out what’s going to work or what doesn’t for ourselves. I think it’s something that maybe we should revisit whenever our own personal lives and schedules change. I hope you will get out of the dip you are in though, I’m glad you’re enjoying posting meditations. I’ll check more of them out. I also love your quotes posts, I always enjoy reading quotes of all kinds 🙂
      Will email you later ❤ 🙂 I hope you enjoy your weekend too!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ps Cat in my post today Sunday 2nd july i mention you as i was so inspired by your round up. I hope people pop over to yours. I was so inspired by your post that i did one on my blog for June .. it was quite fun. I am always see monthly favs on youtube… so lets see.

        Liked by 1 person

Phoenix the Peacock's waiting to hear what you think!

