#BookReview: Sam and Jump by Jennifer K. Mann #MPBooks

A great children’s picture book which anyone who’s ever lost their favourite toy can relate to.

Book Review Logo

Sam and Jump book reviewTitle: Sam and Jump

Author/Illustrator: Jennifer K. Mann

Publisher: Walker Books

Genre: Children’s Picture Book

Feathers: One My Peacock Books featherOne My Peacock Books featherOne My Peacock Books featherOne My Peacock Books featherOne My Peacock Books feather

Description: Sam and Jump do everything together.  One day they go to the beach, where they meet Thomas.  They play all day.  But when Sam gets home he realizes he’s forgotten something: JUMP!

My Review:  This is a really sweet and simple tale that many kids will relate to. Sam and his best friend Jump, a cuddly toy rabbit, do everything together. Like many kids with their toys, Sam is very attached to Jump and one day they go to the beach where they have fun together, until Sam meets Thomas. Sam and Thomas end up enjoying the rest of the afternoon together at the beach, but when it’s time to go home Sam forgets poor Jump and doesn’t know what to do.

Simple yet fun illustrations.

It’s hard not to spoil the ending of this story as it’s such a short and simple tale, but it has a really happy ending and I couldn’t help but smile at what happens. I really enjoyed this paperback picture book. It’s a little smaller than A4 in size and filled with thick colourful pages that have such simple illustrations. I really liked these pictures, they are so simple and yet really show the story well. They look like simple pencil drawings and that along with the font used in the book has a childlike appearance that I really enjoyed.

Pictures look like simple drawings.

A lot of children have a favourite toy and can relate to losing that toy, or the idea of losing it, which is why I think a lot of children would like this book. It’s so simple and gives a happy, uplifting ending for what kids may sometimes experience. I certainly would have loved this book as a child and would definitely recommend it to others.

Really sweet pictures, I just love these images! 🙂 ❤

-Thanks to Walker Books for a free copy.


Could you or your kids relate to losing a favourite toy?  What do you think of this book?  Let me know in the comments 🙂  And if you want to you can find me in these places too:

Facebook  Twitter  Google+ Instagram  Pinterest  Goodreads  Bloglovin’  StumbleUpon

Author: mypeacockbooks

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks! I'm a girl who enjoys blogging, reading, being arty and showing off 'Phoenix' the Peacock to everyone I meet!

2 thoughts on “#BookReview: Sam and Jump by Jennifer K. Mann #MPBooks”

Phoenix the Peacock's waiting to hear what you think!

