#BookReview: The Greedy Goat by Petr Horáček #MPBooks

A very funny children’s picture book that’s great for teaching kids too.

Book Review Logo

The Greedy Goat book reviewTitle: The Greedy Goat

Author/Illustrator: Petr Horáček

Publisher: Walker Books

Genre: Children’s Picture Book

Feathers: One My Peacock Books featherOne My Peacock Books featherOne My Peacock Books featherOne My Peacock Books featherOne My Peacock Books feather

 

Description: Goat is greedy.  She’s had enough of eating grass.  But when she decides to try something different, she gets more than she bargained for.

A hilarious, cautionary farmyard tale that teaches colours and days of the week.

My Review:  This is such a funny book it really made me laugh aloud!  ‘The Greedy Goat’ has such a simple story but it’s so silly, kids will definitely enjoy reading it again and again.  The paperback is wider but shorter than A4 in size and is filled with colourful images on thick glossy paper.  The story is simple, Goat is greedy and having had enough grass she tries a variety of different foods, including typical goat things such as eating a shoe!  I won’t spoil the rest of the tale but it’s very funny and there are some great images throughout.

Fun illustrations

The illustrations really make this story so funny.  I do like Horáček’s style, each picture looks like a combination of pencil, crayon and paint.  Each illustration has a lot of humour in it especially when Goat starts to feel strange after eating so many odd foods.  I don’t think this book would be so funny if it wasn’t for the images!

Some more great images

The ending is really great and has a funny twist on the last page that really made me laugh out loud!  The story isn’t just fun to read but at the same time kids will learn the days of the week as well as several colours and some animals.  And the simple repetitive sentences make this even more enjoyable.  I can’t say a bad word about this book and love looking at it over and over again.  I think adults will find it fun too.  It’s definitely a book I would have loved as a child and would recommend it to everyone, it’s one of my favourites I’ve read this year!

The pictures really lend to the humour! 🙂

-Thanks to Walker Books for a free copy.


Do you love goats?  Find the illustrations funny?  Let me know what you think, I’d love to hear from you 🙂  You can find me in in these places too:

Facebook  Twitter  Google+ Instagram  Pinterest  Goodreads  Bloglovin’  StumbleUpon

Author: mypeacockbooks

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks! I'm a girl who enjoys blogging, reading, being arty and showing off 'Phoenix' the Peacock to everyone I meet!

1 thought on “#BookReview: The Greedy Goat by Petr Horáček #MPBooks”

Phoenix the Peacock's waiting to hear what you think!

