My Recent Absence & July 2017 Round-up #MPBooks

A slightly early sum up of July plus what’s planned for next month and why I’ve been away.

My Peacock Books Website Banner
Reading in bed
Image from Pexels.com

Hi everyone!  Sorry for my recent absence.  Some of you may have noticed I disappeared for the last week or two and have only visited one or two blogs briefly.  I didn’t think I was going to be away, a lot of things happening personally plus a lot of packing as I’m moving soon (fingers crossed).  I’ve had several things happen both online and offline and it kept me away from the blog but I hope you don’t all think I’m ignoring you 😦 , I just haven’t had the time to blog anything recently, apart from that one blog post for ‘The Upstairs Room’ yesterday.  So I thought I’d do my July round up a few days before July ends, to let you know what’s happening now I’m back into blogging and I hope you’ll all want to stick around and read some of these posts.

Typewritter sorry messageSo, the first BIG news is that problem I’ve been having with a certain publisher who gave credit to someone else for an old review I wrote (on my previous blog) has been resolved!  You can read more about the issue here, although I’ll be putting up a new blog post very soon to let you know what happened.  Amazingly the post about this issue has been July’s most popular blog post!

Girl happy at laptop deskArticles have once again been the most popular posts this month.  My article Commenting on WordPress Blogs without using WordPress has been the second most popular!

Invisible headI personally loved writing my article Do You Have Ghosts following you? which was inspired by a fellow blogger’s post about those pesky ghost followers that never seem to interact with your blog.  I’d recommend it for a bit of a fun read!

A lot of the books I planned to leave reviews for this month got left in the drafts folder on wordpress.  I’ve written the posts but needed to add the photos to a lot of picture and colouring books posts and because I wasn’t logged in to WordPress for long enough to do anything they remained in the drafts folder until next month! D’oh!  This of course means I have a whole bunch of book reviews I’m going to flood at you this week and next, so I hope you don’t mind that, I know there’s a lot of you who love the picture book reviews so I hope you’ll enjoy them!

Speaking of picture book reviews, my favourite picture books of this month have been The Greedy Goat and Kiki and Bobo’s Sunny Day.

The Greedy Goat book coverKiki and Bobo's Sunny Day book cover

I have no idea why I liked these two books so much but something about them touched me, especially the funny pictures in ‘The Greedy Goat’!

Nemesis book coverI also loved the sci-fi thriller YA Nemesis which had just the right amount suspense and intrigue to really keep me hooked and reading it!  I’d recommend it but it’s a bit of a cliffhanger ending, there needs to be another book written and I’m not sure if one is planned yet so I’m crossing my fingers!

I have a lot of things planned for the next month, I’ll hopefully get out all the existing reviews I left behind so will hopefully catch up with all that, plus I am really hoping to be able to write some articles that have been in my head for some time.  I want to go further with my What Makes a Book YA/Young Adult Versus Just Adult? which is still my most popular blog post to date – thank you everyone who’s read it! 😀  I’ve got an idea about a couple of Amazon related posts to do with reviews which might interest anyone who uses amazon.  I also have some other stuff planned in my head but how much of that will happen depends on how much time I can get to write it all.  But of course I’ll be writing about the Publisher issue soon.

I also hope I’ll be able to participate more with you guys in the future.  I’ve been thinking about a collaboration (perhaps with lots of other blogs in the future) although I wanted to apologise to the wonderful Bella for not being able to get into it this month – hopefully next month ❤   I might also take part in a book tag post – I’m not usually into Awards and Tags but this one I might do as I think answering the question will be fun! :p

Hippo

I also hope to write more creative stuff for you.  I’m a bit disappointed that a poem I put a lot of heart into – Goodbye Dear Soul – wasn’t really enjoyed by many people this month, but it seems my darker poetry has more fans than the more heartfelt/lighter poems.  😮

And of course lots more reading is planned, though I hope I’m not plagued by any more headaches which made reading in the last two weeks (when I had time) very difficult 😦 .

Thank you image
Image from Pixabay.com

Thank you to everyone who follows, likes and comments this blog, most importantly thank you to anyone who reads what I write.  I really appreciate having you guys reading my work and I look forward to reading yours too 🙂

I almost forgot…One more great thing that happened is this blog has now had 2,000 hits!  Okay, so that might not be much to some of you, but I celebrate every little achievement so whooo!  And thank you! 😀

Let me know how your July has gone in the comments below.  What are you looking forward to in August? 


I’d love to hear from you so please comment below.  You can find me in in these places too:

Facebook  Twitter  Google+ Instagram  Pinterest  Goodreads  Bloglovin’  StumbleUpon

 

 

Author: mypeacockbooks

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks! I'm a girl who enjoys blogging, reading, being arty and showing off 'Phoenix' the Peacock to everyone I meet!

6 thoughts on “My Recent Absence & July 2017 Round-up #MPBooks”

Phoenix the Peacock's waiting to hear what you think!

