#BookReview: Tell it to the Moon by Siobhan Curham #MPBooks

An amazing and really inspiring young adult novel.

Book Review Logo

Tell it to the Moon book coverTitle: Tell it to the Moon

Author: Siobhan Curham

Publisher: Walker Books

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Feathers: One My Peacock Books featherOne My Peacock Books featherOne My Peacock Books featherOne My Peacock Books featherOne My Peacock Books feather

 

Description: What happens when a dream is impossible to achieve – or even figure out?  Amber, Maali, Rose and Sky are the Monlight Dreamers, an unlikely group of friends who give one another the courage to be themselves and pursue their dreams.

As they discover, life may not always turn out as planned, but sometimes the unexpected can be even better. A celebration of friendship and finding your place in the world.

My Review: This is such an amazing and inspiring novel.  ‘Tell it to the Moon’ is the sequel to ‘The Moonlight Dreamers’ a book which I loved reading and which itself was inspiring and heartwarming.  You don’t need to have read the first novel though to enjoy this one but if you’ve read ‘The Moonlight Dreamers’ you’ll understand the characters far better.

Set several months after the previous book, it’s Christmas Eve and a lot has happened for all four girls.  Amber’s struggling to know who she is and where she comes from, Sky feels terrible about her school situation, Maali’s family are having some problems and Rose has some big news to tell everyone.  As soon as I started reading this I felt compelled to read on.  All four girls face typical situations and emotions that any teenager would feel, and I think this is why the book is so appealing to read.

The story is told from the point of view of all four girls, though always in third person.  The tale switches between the different girls very often but there’s never any confusion in the plot, in fact it only engages you more as you read about a situation from one girl’s perspective and then switch to another to see what she is thinking and feeling.  I really enjoyed all four girls individual stories and how they all came together to help each other overcome their problems, but Sky’s story about school and Amber’s need to find her way resonated with me the most.  Having been through similar emotions and problems myself when I was younger, I would have loved to have read this book when I was at school.

The book has very occasional use of the s swear word but nothing else offensive.  The ending is really uplifting and heartwarming and the whole story just feels so inspiring and a little emotional too.  Although some of the plot was a little predictable for me, at times as I’ve read a lot of YA in the past, it didn’t bother me as there were many moments where I didn’t know what would happen and the way the Moonlight Dreamers came together was what really kept me reading this story.

It’s the perfect book for anyone to read but I think teens who feel like they are different from others or scared to dream big will really love this novel as it has such an inspiring message that it makes me want to pursue my own dreams, no matter what they are.  I’d definitely recommend this book to others and if you plan on reading this then try ‘The Moonlight Dreamers’ first as the story’s so much more engrossing if you know what happens in the first book too.
-Thanks to Walker Books for a free copy.


Have you read The Moonlight Dreamers novels?  Or any other books that have inspired you?  What do you think of this book?  Let me know in the comments below, I’d love to hear from you 🙂

You can also find me in these places: 

Facebook  Twitter  Google+ Instagram  Pinterest  Goodreads  Bloglovin’  StumbleUpon

Author: mypeacockbooks

Books, Art, Poetry & Peacocks! I'm a girl who enjoys blogging, reading, being arty and showing off 'Phoenix' the Peacock to everyone I meet!

1 thought on “#BookReview: Tell it to the Moon by Siobhan Curham #MPBooks”

Phoenix the Peacock's waiting to hear what you think!

