My Peacock Books Website Banner

January 2018 Round-up #MPBooks

Picture of reading in bed
Image from Pexels.com

So the first month of January feels as if it has flown by and I’ve been very busy.  Not only have I managed to post a lot of stuff on my blog and get back to pre-scheduling most posts, but I’ve also been busy in the offline world.  My time with blogging is going to be hampered a little bit though over the next month as I’ll be away for a bit, but I’ll still keep reading (I just can’t help but love reading!) and do my best to not let it look like I’ve disappeared.  To those kind friends who worry, don’t worry, I’m not pushing myself or anything, I have a lot of pre-saved posts all ready to go so you might not even notice I’m gone! lol  In the online world I also have some more exciting news to share but I want to save that until a little later when I’m sure everything’s going well.  So anyway, on to what’s happened in the last month…

yes no maybe board ticked no
Image from Pixabay.com

Last month was my best month for views and visitors with nearly 800 people visiting the blog.  That’s about 400 more than usual!  This spike in views happened with the release of my blog post titled 10 Reasons Why BookBloggers Refuse to Review Indie Books in which I looked at an long standing problem bloggers have with some indie authors and their (often over zealous) approach to getting reviews from us.  Thank you so much for all the views, likes, comments and shares, I can’t believe it was so popular and I really do appreciate everyone who’s been so nice and wanted to get involved.  If you haven’t seen this post yet then please add your thoughts 🙂

An idea
Image from Pixabay.com

I love the fact that this post made the second most viewed of the month with 40 views.  It’s a poem called A Brilliant Idea! that replaced a post that went out of my head, it’s both funny and silly and even if you’re not into poetry I’m sure you’ll love to read this so take a look 😀

The third most popular post of January was a fun tag which I decided to take part in as I found it interesting to compare books.  Amazon’s “100 Books to Read in a Lifetime” Tag looks at 100 books that Amazon’s editors deemed the books to read in your lifetime.    I tend not to tag people (though I really don’t mind being tagged myself 😉 ) which means anyone can take part if you want to and don’t forget to tag me so I can see your wonderful answers too or simply comment on the post if you prefer 🙂

Crime and Punishment book cover
Wordsworth Classics 2011 edition

The most popular book review of last month was surprisingly for a classic.  This is the cover version I own of Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dovtoevsky (which I prefer to many other covers I’ve seen) and it made excellent reading, at least for me.  Although classics aren’t to everyone’s tastes, it did capture me over the psychological effects on the main character and the excitement of staying one step ahead of the police.  Take a look at my review if you feel like checking it out, or comment on what you think of the book if you’ve already read it 🙂

Those were my most popular posts but I also wanted to highlight a couple more as I feel they deserve to be seen more.

Cat in snow hole
Image from Pixabay.com

The first is a poem that I posted on Wednesday.  Unfortunately, despite being ready and scheduled, the poem just never posted.  I posted it several hours later when I realised but it was too late.  The poem has currently had hardly any views compared to my other poetry 😥  So please take a look at Dark Cavity if you haven’t, although it is a dark poem so be warned.

Happy Twitter blue bird smiling
Image from Pixabay.com Adapted by mypeacockbooks.wordpress.com

The last is #ChangeAWordRuinABook.  This took a look at a popular hashtag going around on twitter in January and is basically a bit of a fun/silly post coming up with lots of silly book titles.  Take a look and add your own 🙂

 

 


So that’s it for January.  As I said, February is a busy month for me.  More book reviews and hauls will definitely come, but the poetry and other type posts might go down for a bit.  Let’s see how it goes and I’ll keep you guys posted 🙂  For now I’m going to reduce my 7 day a week posting schedule to about 5 (though this might go down very quickly if I’m not around for a while)  I’ll probably post during the week, leaving the weekend free for myself, and might change the time to 8am rather than 9 although don’t quote me on that, lol 🙂  Hope you all had a great month, tell me about it in the comments below 🙂

What happened blog and otherwise for you in January?  What are you looking forward to in February?


Please follow My Peacock Books in these locations too by clicking on the links below 🙂 :

Facebook  ~Twitter ~ Google+ ~ Instagram ~ Pinterest ~ Goodreads ~ Bloglovin’ ~ StumbleUpon

 

7 thoughts on “January 2018 Round-up #MPBooks

  1. Congratulations, Cat, on the popularity of 10 Reasons Why BookBloggers Refuse to Review Indie Books – it was an excellent blog post! I reblogged and shared it and also received a lot of hits for it. I noticed too that several of the other bloggers I follow also reblogged it, so you definitely hit a chord with that one!
    As for me, I started a new blog titled “What are you reading?” and the explanation behind that is here: https://islandeditions.wordpress.com/2018/01/13/what-are-you-reading/ It’s not a review blog, but rather a place where I hope to generate conversation about great books. And I’ve already posted about several great books I’ve read so far this year. I’m encouraging other readers to send me links and a brief explanation as to what books they may be reading that knock off their reading socks. https://whatareyoureading212968983.wordpress.com/

    Like

Phoenix the Peacock's waiting to hear what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.